Amélie Composer Yann Tiersen Heads Down Dust Lane with Anti-

<i>Amélie</i> Composer Yann Tiersen Heads Down <i>Dust Lane</i> with Anti-
Yann Tiersen is best known for his score for the 2001 film, Amélie, but the experimental composer has also made the occasional foray into the world of pop music, including collaborations with members of Cocteau Twins and Tindersticks, and an appearance at this year's Coachella festival. Now, he has signed to Anti- Records and is gearing up for his label debut.

The label is gearing up to release his new album, Dust Lane, on October 12. Judging by a press release, the record will be a curve ball from the avant-garde composer. The disc was written over two years, and "began with acoustic guitars, mandolin, banjo, bouzouki and toy drums followed by the addition of electric guitars and bass and finally the incorporation of the vintage analogue synthesizers of Tiersen's post punk youth." Except for the drums, Tiersen played all of the instruments himself.

The composer said, "I have several synths that love so much at home and so I started to spend my days in front of the beautiful knobs of my Prophet 5 and my Moog and oh!! miracle, it suddenly seemed so natural to add their texture to Dust Lane. I really love the space they bring to the album."

Vocals on the album take the shape of "atmospheric choruses," as well as spoken word readings from Matt Elliott. One song, "Chapter 19," contains excepts from Henry Miller.

Dust Lane:

1. "Amy"
2. "Dust Lane"
3. "Dark Stuff"
4. "Palestine"
5. "Chapter 19"
6. "Ashes"
7. "Till the End"
8. "Fuck Me"