Black Sabbath Give 'Vol. 4' the Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set Treatment

The reissue includes outtakes, new mixes and more
Black Sabbath Give 'Vol. 4' the Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set Treatment
Having given Paranoid a big box set reissue for its 50th anniversary in August, Black Sabbath will now give 1972's Vol. 4 a similar treatment.

Though it doesn't turn 50 until 2022, Vol. 4 will be reissued as "Super Deluxe Edition" vinyl box set on February 12 through Rhino.

The set features five, 180-gram LPs, packing in the newly remastered original album alongside outtakes, new mixes, alternative takes and a 1973 concert recording. You can pore over the massive tracklisting below.

Along with all that audio, the set features booklets boasting liner notes with quotes from the era from all four band members, rare photos and a poster with previously unpublished early artwork of the album using the working title Snowblind.

"We were going to call this album Snowblind because we'd discovered that magic white powder, but the record company said, 'No way,'" frontman Ozzy Osbourne recalled to Rolling Stone in 2004. "We did so much fucking coke making it. [...] We used to sniff and jam for days, recording everything on big spools of tape. But it was the beginning of the end. Cocaine was the cancer of the band."

Given Black Sabbath's recent boxed offerings, it wouldn't shock us if a similar set materialized for Master of Reality's 50th anniversary in 2021. In the meantime, the Vol. 4 box is now available for pre-order.

Vol. 4: Super Deluxe Edition:

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

1. Wheels of Confusion / The Straightener
2. Tomorrow's Dream
3. Changes
4. FX
5. Supernaut
6. Snowblind
7. Cornucopia
8. Laguna Sunrise
9. St. Vitus Dance
10. Under the Sun / Every Day Comes and Goes

Disc Two: Outtakes – New Mixes

1. Wheels of Confusion / The Straightener *
2. Changes *
3. Supernaut *
4. Snowblind *
5. Laguna Sunrise *
6. Under the Sun (Instrumental) *

Disc Three: Alternative Takes, False Starts & Studio Dialogue

1. Wheels of Confusion (False Start with Studio Dialogue) *
2. Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 1) *
3. Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 2) *
4. Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 3) *
5. Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 4) *
6. The Straightener (Outtake) *
7. Supernaut (Outtake) *
8. Supernaut (Alternative Takes with False Starts) *
9. Snowblind (Alternative Take 1 – Incomplete) *
10. Under the Sun (False Start with Studio Dialogue) *
11. Under the Sun (Alternative Take with Guide Vocal) *

Disc Four: Live in the UK 1973

1. Tomorrow's Dream *
2. Sweet Leaf *
3. War Pigs
4. Snowblind *
5. Killing Yourself to Live
6. Cornucopia
7. Wicked World (Includes Excerpts of:)
i. Guitar Solo
ii. Orchid
iii. Into the Void
iv. Sometimes I'm Happy
8. Supernaut / Drum Solo
9. Wicked World (Reprise)
10. Embryo
11. Children of the Grave
12. Paranoid

* previously unreleased