Blood Orange Readies New Classical Album 'Fields'

It was recorded alongside Chicago's Third Coast Percussion
Blood Orange Readies New Classical Album 'Fields'
Though he's only a little over a month removed from sharing his Angel's Pulse mixtape, Blood Orange mastermind Devonté Hynes has now revealed his first album of classical music is on the way.

Hynes has teamed with Chicago-based ensemble Third Coast Percussion for a new album titled Fields. The 13-track release is set to arrive October 11 through Cedille.

Hynes composed the music himself with DAW (digital audio workstation) software before sending recordings and sheet music to Third Coast Percussion. The ensemble then arranged and orchestrated the tracks for their own instruments.

"This was the first time I've written music that I've never played, and I love that," Hynes said in a press release. "It's something I've always been striving to get to. Seeing what Third Coast Percussion had done with these pieces was magical."

Fields' first 11 tracks form a suite titled "For All Its Fury," before the album closes with compositions "Perfectly Voiceless" and "There Was Nothing." Find a complete tracklist below.


1. Reach
2. Blur
3. Coil
4. Wane
5. Curl
6. Hush
7. Gather
8. Tremble
9. Cradle
10. Press
11. Fields
12. Perfectly Voiceless
13. There Was Nothing