Russian Circles Unveil 'Memorial,' Premiere New Track

Russian Circles Unveil 'Memorial,' Premiere New Track
Two years on from the release of Russian Circles' Empros, the Chicago instru-metal trio have announced that their next set, Memorial, is due October 29 through Sargent House.

A press release notes that the band's fifth full-length found them re-teaming with producer Brandon Curtis (the Secret Machines, Interpol), who had worked behind the boards on Empros and 2009's Geneva. The eight-song set was recorded at Chicago's Electrical Audio studio, and according to bassist Brian Cook, the band "set out to make a straightforward, intense, heavy record."

"We've always tried to balance our metal-influenced sounds with more nuanced, pretty, orchestral elements," he said in a statement. "But this time, it's far more polarized in that the heavy parts are much more blown out and exaggerated while the pretty moments are far more restrained, delicate, and atmospheric."

To preview the "darker and more sombre sounds" of Memorial, the band are now streaming the doomy, chugging licks and brutalized drums of post-apocalyptic dirge "Deficit," which you can check out down below.

Elsewhere, opener "Memoriam" is said to feature delicate six-string plucks and a hazy wall of synths, while labelmate Chelsea Wolfe adds "reverb-soaked" guest vocals to the closing title track, a song that apparently conjures both the first track's melody and Julie Cruise's Twin Peaks theme song.

You can find the tracklisting down below and the album art above.

Russian Circles will be touring Europe this fall with Chelsea Wolfe, while a North American headlining trek is tentatively scheduled for early 2014.


1. Memoriam
2. Deficit 
3. 1777
4. Cheyenne
5. Burial
6. Ethel
7. Lebaron
8. Memorial