The 'Boyz N the Hood' Soundtrack Is Coming to Vinyl

The 'Boyz N the Hood' Soundtrack Is Coming to Vinyl
Nearly 30 years on from the film's release, the soundtrack to John Singleton's Boys N the Hood is set to receive its first-ever vinyl release.

The soundtrack is set to arrive as a 2xLP set in black and translucent blue variants on September 27 through Qwest/UMe.

The 14-track release features songs from Ice Cube, Main Source, 2 Live Crew, Too $hort, Quincy Jones, Stanley Clarke, Tony! Toni! Toné! and more. You can find a breakdown of all four album sides below.

Released in 1991, Boyz N the Hood marked Singleton's directorial debut, earning him Academy Award nominations for Best Original Screenplay and Best Director. At 24, he became the youngest person to receive a Best Director nomination, as well as the first African-American to receive the nomination.

Singleton passed away in April of this year following a stroke. His other film credits include Poetic Justice, Shaft2 Fast 2 FuriousFour Brothers and Abduction.

The Boyz N the Hood soundtrack is now available for pre-order.

Boyz N the Hood: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack:

Side A

1. Ice Cube - How To Survive In South Central
2. Tevin Campbell - Just Ask Me To
3. Yo-Yo - Mama Don't Take No Mess
4. CMW - Growin' Up In The Hood

Side B 

1. Main Source - Just A Friendly Game Of Baseball (Remix)
2. Tony! Toni! Toné! - Me & You
3. Monie Love - Work It Out

Side C

1. Kam - Every Single Weekend
2. Hi-Five - Too Young
3. 2 Live Crew - Hangin' Out
4. Too $hort - It's Your Life

Side D 

1. Force One Network - Spirit (Does Anyone Care?)
2. Quincy Jones - Setembro
3. Stanley Clarke - Black On Black Crime**

** vinyl debut