The Darcys Announce 'Centerfold,' Premiere New Single

The Darcys Announce 'Centerfold,' Premiere New Single
After setting up fans with a Footloose-inspired music video for their "Miracle" earlier in the summer, the Darcys have detailed the album on which the single will ultimately rest. Titled Centerfold, the band's fourth full-length release is due to reveal itself in full November 4 via Arts & Crafts.

The follow-up to 2013's Juno-nominated Warring, Centerfold marks the first full-length release from the Darcys since they slimmed their lineup down to the two-piece of Jason Couse and Wes Marskell in 2014. A press release explains that the outfit crafted upwards of 50 new songs over the last two years, having recorded these in New Zealand, Los Angeles, Banff and Toronto. Alongside producer Shawn Everett (Alabama Shakes, Julian Casablancas), they trimmed this down to a 10-track release.

The set is said to explore the realms of funk and pop, with sonic touchstones including David Bowie, Chic, and the soundtracks to Blade Runner and Back to the Future. While this is arguably a world away from the art-rock approach of their earlier LPs, the Darcys have stressed that the progression to pop is a sound and natural one.

"There was never an agenda to sacrifice anything," Marskell said in a statement. "Was the implication really that we were going to make a shitty record? We're not really working with a formula and there was never an obvious next record for us. If anything, a pop record seems as logical as anything else."

Following the previously teased "Miracle," the act are now streaming out Centerfold's next single, "San Diego, 1988." The track is described by Marskell as being "about giving into the fantasy of escapism and defending the idea of a simpler kind of love." You can check it out below in a neon-lit lyric video.


1. Studio City
2. Miracle
3. San Diego, 1988
4. Virtual Reality
5. Arizona Highway
6. Coming Up For Air
7. I Want It All
8. Alibi
9. Black Diamonds
10. Lip Service

Tour dates:

08/11 Vancouver, BC – The Commodore Ballroom *
08/12 Vancouver, BC – The Commodore Ballroom *
09/03 Edmonton, AB – Sonic Boom Festival
09/04 Calgary, AB – X Fest
09/09 Niagara Falls, ON - Jackson Triggs ^
09/18 Victoria, BC – Rifflandia

^ with Arkells